Late to Camp NaNoWriMo

https://nanowrimo.org/participants/rebekah1213 My NaNoWriMo profile

Stories from this blog prompt …. https://rebekahquinne.wordpress.com/2024/04/01/camp-nanowrimo-5/ 

It was 2:30am when I heard the honk …I was already dressed in case I had to rush to the bus. I was already packed and my phone was 78% charged.  I raced to the bus…..

I get on the bus as there are six other people all fixing their hair or just getting dressed…..

I groaned …”Rebekah, you are almost the last one … .there were total.of nine who missed the bus this year, so you get the last cabin.” the driver explained as I got in and sighed. 

We picked up the last two people who were both in onesies each with a simple backpack. She had an orange onesie with pigtails, and he had a Scooby Doo onesie with stuffies Scooby. They both sat with me as we all instantly felt close and connected. 

We all sat around as there was an older lady in the passenger seat at the gas station, she got us coffee and some muffins. 

She sat with us….”we are going around saying your name and what do you write …” she smiled. 

“I’m your cabin leader Anne. I write fantasy short stories.” She giggled and smiled. 

We went around the bus….

  1. Belle wrote stories that can end all races. She was hoping camp would help her finish her book. 
  2. Paige wrote children’s books as she was a teacher and she was inspired by her own kids and students. 
  3. Alexis wrote books about owning a TV station and the drama that goes with producing a TV show. 
  4. Jack wrote stories of health issues, bonds of friends, secret plots of his frenemies and how he was a bad boy. 
  5. Max wrote several novels on how everything should be lived to max. He had a hard time finishing any of the stories. 
  6. She went by Shadow fun and wrote about erotica and darker tales. 
  7. I am Rebekah and write drama, personal stories and my favorite horror stories. My stories did have some adult themes 
  8. River wrote erotica and sci-fi with both  books and short stories. 
  9. Rayven wrote sci-fi drama and erotica stories.

We told our stories….my stories. 

Story one. . . Growl

I walk into the store just as my cell phone goes off. . . It was agent. I couldn’t believe I was big enough that I had an agent, lawyer, and accountant. I was almost as famous as Rice (I was way better than Meyer.)

“Did you find the driver and got to the New York store?” Chad Alison asked.

“Yes, I did. We are here and doing well. I read from chapter three and then sign books for two hours.” I retell the events.

“Then you and your husband meet me at” He went on about the latest pop restaurant in New York.

“I have a huge announcement for you.” He was so excited, so I hyper and nervous. My sweetie rubbed my shoulder as he directed me to the front desk as I still have my cell phone up to my ear.

“Well, we need to go. We will meet you there at seven tonight.” I explained and said Bye to get off the phone.

There was over hundred people in the store. I read a small scene about challenge of being a vampire in the past. It was from Book 3: Danielle and she was a gypsy, so she had extra magic and charm but was so much stronger at night.

I explained how I got started with vampires, and I gave credit to National Novel Writing month (NaNoWriMo). I even put the website in my books. I love Stroker’s Dracula and Rice’s The Vampire Chronicles. We answered a few questions and then I signed several dozen books.

Later that evening, my husband and I met my agent at the fancy restaurant. I was just in simple dress and my guy in a simple dark blue suit and we still felt under dressed. We saw several celebrities complaining that the soup was too cold. It was supposed to be cold as it was a Watermelon soup to cleanse the palate.

“So you said you had good news?” I blurted out nervous and excited and still hyped over the signing.

“Yes, they want to make Book one: Melzela into a movie.” He smiled hyped as well. I wanted to squeak and scream; it took all of me to stay calm.

“That is amazing.” My husband stated as I could heard negotiating in his voice. He was already on the phone with our lawyer to look over the contract. We had five courses including dessert and celebrated the good news. . . minus the complaining celebs, the food was amazing.

I woke up with a smile on my face. I stretched only to feel that my phone was not on my end table. . I sat up so fast that I got entangled in my CPAP tube. I tried to take the mask off with nervous and blurred vision as the clip on the mask flicked me in the eye. I growled as hold my eye. . . I shift to side of the bed as my barefoot step into something cold and squishy. I growled again. I turned my entire body to use my good eye. I found my glasses, on the edge of the table. Then I see my phone flipped on the floor between the table and bed. I noticed that my green headset was chewed through . . . It was my cat Bonkers; that was the third set he ate through that month and I didn’t have a backup pair. I growled yet again. I found a dirty towel, cleaned off my foot, and the gross mess that Bonkers left when he choked on my green cord.

I looked at my phone. . . “**** I over slept.” I had overslept by at least an hour as I had not heard my alarm go off. I barely dressed in my sweatpants and a oversize hoodie, with a unkempt fizzy bun and raced to the local gas station a few blocks down the street. It was a total of twenty minute walk both ways combined, but I needed a headset with microphone; I do all of my music, mediation, and phone calls that way. I growled at I look at the slim choices that all over priced by at least ten dollars. I re-budgeted my groceries in my head as I bought sparkly pink one. The cashier didn’t even greet me, nor did I greet him, we both knew it was just one of the get our stuff, pay for it, and get out transactions.

I got home put a bagel, I look all over the refrigerator for the cream cheese that I bought for the bagels. However the bagel was popped and now more cool than warm as I find that the cream was opened, and left out over night as my brother used it on crackers, but never put it away. However was it last night or the night before, because the cheese was crusted hard and I’m not sure if that green was another food or mold. . . Ewww. . . I growl as I try to spread butter on my cold, hard bagel. I grabbed a cup of coffee only to find that my brother put my favorite creamer back in the refrigerator empty. I growled again.

I finally took a shower only to find that the water was on temp. . . our neighbor had used all of hot water, between using their dish washer, and all four of them showering in the morning. Then I only got shampoo in my eye, and I spent five extra minutes washing suds out of my sensitive and sore eyes. I growled several times as I dry off. I finally get dressed, but I heard a honk on the bus. . . I look out of the window as I racing to finish packing. . . I growl to bare see the bus decorated with a book and a rainbow over it as the words Camp NaNoWriMo was on it. . . .I raced out in bare feet and un-brushed wet hair to see that bus had pass. No one saw me run after it, except my brother who was eating my pizza rolls. Then he said. . . “there was the bus.” . . . No S***. . . I growled.

Story two: Order in the Court

I was getting my things together and packing for writing camp when I heard a knocking noises like the sound of a hammer . . . like a gravel on a judge’s bench. I couldn’t tell where the sound was coming from, but looked around, but it was getting louder almost like a hammer meets a very hard slow drumming sound. As I get closer to my notebook, the sound was so loud that it was giving me a headache. . . I could also hear muffled voices. . . and I heard :”Order. . . Order in the court!” I was confused where it was coming from. . . I looked around, but the sound was strong around my notebook.

I got pulled into as soon as I opened my book. . . It was like a cartoon, my body for just second was like a piece of flexible goo that got sucked up into the vacuum.

I merge in front of a huge wood door that that had the Justice Tarot card engraved in the wood. It was a woman blindfold holding up a scale.

“Go in . . . you are late.” A clumsy man with a black briefcase told me. . . I opened the door as the court room is full of so many different characters. Cat people from a sci-fi story I wanted to write with my talented hubby. My hubby is dressed in a sci-fi space outfit. A beautiful woman in black and orange dress sat next to the Cat people as I knew that was the character I wanted to create for my amazing Rayven. Dragons all with my brother’s faces stuck in them as if they were ideas from a children’s book I wanted to write, but never got around to time. All of my vampires were there, a few witches, a bunch of ghosts, and even my inner demons in physical forms, some were mean but gorgeous, others were just natural hideous forms.

There was a judge a Gothic younger chick who would smile at the characters but frown at me. She had spiderweb with eye makeup on her temples.

“Rebekah, do you know why you are here?” She asked. . . .

“Honestly, no I do not, your honor.” I replied. All of the characters booed.

“You have condemned of having favorite characters.” She sighed in her condemn.

“Is that a crime?” I was confused.

“I will admit I do have some characters that their stories just come out better, and therefore make it easier to write. As for favorite, each character has there own merit.” I explained.

“Lair.” Several of the characters blurted out.

“Which ones are my favorites and which ones feel left out?” I wanted answers. I wanted to know what was the real crime and what was supposed punishment for the crime. They made a list of me claiming that I favor the vampires, ghosts, and witches the most. The Dragons, unicorns both declared that they wanted more attention.

“I write more horror than fantasy.” It was my rebuttal.

“There is a very fine line between horror and fantasy.” They argued back.

“Dragons can easily be horror. They breathe fire and make you a roasted marshmallow human.” It was another argument.

“You can have unicorn take you out with their horn.” Another character shouted. . .

“What do you say to that?” The judge asked me.

“I rather be friend a dragon or unicorn, not have them kill me.” They all grumbled at my reply.

“Why don’t you use more elves or fairies in your work?” They asked as the first two rows was a mixture of elves and fairies. They all looked mad at me.

“Again, I write horror, not fantasy.” I growled. They growled back.

“Disney really messed up my vision of fairies with Tinkerbell.” I added. “Blame Disney. It’s hard to see you that dark between Disney and then Lord of the Rings.” I rolled my eyes. “I like vampire for the power, sex appeal, and their emotions are just more intense. It’s hard for me to see this in elves or fairies.”

The crowds all started to grumble that the judge had to say. . . “Order in the court.” She smacked her gavel. They quieted down. I was still confused.

“What about your drama work?” A shy and quiet voice an awkward geeky preteenager asked questioned me.

“What about it?” I asked. I know I have written a few drama pieces working on a fear or emotional issue.

“What about the sibling to the main character?” He asked another question.

“The thing is I write the story. . . the character that pulls to me. Once I am a published author and others read my work, and they feel that your story needs out ,then they can write it.” He growled at my answer.

“What makes your story better than the main character’s story?” I asked him.

“You got everything handed to you even after your parents died. Your sister busted her ass to go to school, work, and take care of you. You even bought a violent video game even though you knew you were not supposed to. . . Why should I write about the brat?” I knew the exact character it was. 

“I can’t tell everyone’s story. I write what characters and stories come to me. They need to pull and hold my interest. I have favorite genres, and yes, I prefer horror over fantasy. If the other character pulled me, and I had the time, I would write your story too. My head is always running with several projects and now my inner demons want their stories told, so I’m doing therapy as well as writing…so give me a d*** break!” I barked at them. 

“I’m just a human.” I sighed. 

“Make it interesting, pull my interest … .I’m a newbie with fantasy, with sci-fi … .adding more genres while I’m trying to finish others can get overwhelming.” I added and argued. 

“I’m starting slow. This doesn’t mean I have extreme favorites, but storylines and twists are easier for me to write.”

“We want you to write all our stories…” one of my inner demons belted out. 

“Then stop criticizing me and help me break my writer’s block and be more creatively productive!” I growled back.

“Look, I need to get ready for writing camp, so inspire me or punish me now.” I was losing patience as I could the clicking of a clock in my head. I knew I needed to finish packing for camp. 

“My judgment is… You need to work on your sci-fi and fantasy spin, work with three new characters and work on things to keep you productive and break your writer’s block….Court is adjourned.” As she snapped her gavel, I reappeared in my bedroom as the bus was driving away…

Leave a comment